Bohdana Frolyak


Composer, author of numerous chamber, symphonic and choral works and winner of many awards.

BOHDANA FROLYAK (born in 1968 in Vydyniv, Ivano-Frankivsk region) – composer, author of numerous chamber, symphonic and choral works. In 1991 she completed her composition studies with Volodymyr Flys and Myroslav Skoryk, and in 1998 she completed postgraduate studies with Myroslav Skoryk at the M. Lysenko National Academy of Music in Lviv. She teaches composition at her alma mater. In 2017, she received the T. Shevchenko Award for her works to Shevchenko’s poetry – Right Soul, Color, Dream. She also received the L. Revutsky Award for the Orbis Terrarum symphony (2000), the B. Latoshinsky Award for the Clarinet Concerto (2006), the M. Lysenko Award for the Second Symphony (2010) and the S. Ludkewycz Award for the Diptych According to Shevchenko and Chamber Pieces (2011).

She was the recipient of scholarships from the Friends of the “Warsaw Autumn” Foundation, the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung (2001), and the Polish Minister of Culture and National Heritage’s “Gaude Polonia” program (2004). Her music has been performed at many festivals of contemporary music in Ukraine and abroad, including “Contrasts” (Lviv), “Two Days and Two Nights of New Music” (Odesa), “Kyiv Music Fest”, “Musical Premieres of the Season” (Kyiv), “Days of Sacred Music” (Uzhhorod), “Warsaw Autumn”, Krakow Composers’ Festival, Forum for Contemporary Art named after Witold Lutoslawski (Lublin), and the “Warsaw Autumn” Festival. Witold Lutoslawski (Lublin), “Menhir Festival” (Switzerland), New Music Festival in Berlin and Cologne (Germany), “Days of Ukrainian Music” in Azerbaijan, and others. Her works have also been performed in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, France and other countries.

Read also about:
Gąbińska 9 / 64 street
01-703 Warsaw
Scroll to Top