Oleh Kyva


Outstanding Ukrainian composer, winner of the M. Lysenko Award (2004) or National Artist of Ukraine (2001).

OLEH KYVA (1947-2007) – prominent Ukrainian composer, winner of the M. Lysenko Award (2004), National Artist of Ukraine (2001), member of the National Union of Filmmakers of Ukraine (1991), Distinguished Art Activist of Ukraine (1986), winner of the M. Ostrovsky Award (1979). He was born in 1947 in Lviv.

In 1971 he graduated from Kyiv’s P. Tchaikovsky State Conservatory in the composition class of Myroslav Skoryk. Oleh Kiwa was the author of numerous works of various genres, among them piano pieces – Variations, Fantasia, Ukrainian Triptych, 2 Sonatas, 2 Concert Fugues; chamber pieces – String Quartet “In Memory of Dmitry Shostakovich”, Sonata for Cello and Piano, Two Intermezzi for Violin and Piano; choral pieces – Three Choruses to Words by A. Pushkin (1983), Four Choruses to Words by M. Rylsky (1984); vocal and symphonic – Pride of Poltava for voice with orchestra (1982), Ode of the Earth for voice with orchestra to the poetry of M. Rylsky (1976/1983); chamber and vocal – Four chamber cantatas (1977, 1981, 1982, 1983), Three poems for baritone and orchestra to the poems of P. Tychyna (1982), Chamber Symphony for soprano and orchestra to the words of T. Shevchenko (1990), Ukrainian music of the 16th-17th centuries for three vocal voices and instrumental ensemble (1990) and others. Oleh Kyva was also known for his film music, both for feature films, documentaries and television.

Read also about:
Gąbińska 9 / 64 street
01-703 Warsaw
Scroll to Top